The Wondrous Story :)

I love hymns! So much! I can listen to one any time, not just Sunday, any day! I have a couple on my phone playlist…I know several off head,,,I just love them! My favorite being, “It is well with my soul”…. 🙂 There are those however, that I listen to once in a while, say during a service and that’s almost enough, no sermon needed! They speak,and they speak the truth. One of those, is, “I’ll sing the wondrous story…” It’s simply amazing!

Over the weekend in between my getting ready for a test and doing this and that, I decided to run to church for my 9am service. Because I had a lot to study before the test, I told myself,  I’d just go for just the sermon and run out immediately after….I stayed for pretty much 3/4 of it. I remember the sermon, everything the preacher taught but if there’s one thing I came out with,,,it was the wondrous story! 🙂 It was the hymn right after the sermon, before I left…and as much as I had planned to run out immediately after, I just couldn’t. I stayed and sung the wondrous-story-of-the-Christ-who-died-for-me! Well, I run out immediately the hymn ended but while I walked back to school, I had this permanent smile on,,,unexplained. But then again, that’s what God does, gives us joy unspeakable from deep within! 🙂

In case you don’t know the words, or have never heard of this particular hymn….here you go!

>>>

I will sing the wondrous story
Of the Christ Who died for me;
How He left His home in glory
For the cross of Calvary.

I was lost, but Jesus found me,
Found the sheep that went astray,
Threw His loving arms around me,
Drew me back into His way.

I was bruised, but Jesus healed me,
Faint was I from many a fall,
Sight was gone, and fears possessed me,
But He freed me from them all.

Days of darkness still come o’er me,
Sorrow’s path I often tread,
But His presence still is with me;
By His guiding hand I’m led.

He will keep me till the river
Rolls its waters at my feet;
Then He’ll bear me safely over,
Where the loved ones I shall meet.

Simply Awesome!!!!

2 thoughts on “The Wondrous Story :)

  1. sukarthling says:

    Jamie, This just made me sign up for word press cz i had to comment. it is so moving. i dont even know the hymn but as i started to read, got lumps in my throat. Real beautiful stuff. Love yo blog. xo. suka

Leave a Reply

