Count my chickens…oh yes, I will. :)

three eggs? nah, three chicken! :)
three eggs? nah, three chicken! 🙂

Lately I have found myself ‘believing so much’ or ‘having too much faith’ for things I hope to happen,,,I think of something that I’d like to do, tell God about it then automatically start my mini-happy dance like I have already accomplished whatever it is I’m planning to do…before even starting on the process involved.

So I ask myself, where is this line drawn….the line between having faith and counting my chickens before they hatch? And who came up with that idiom anyway???? Of course I looked up its origin and before I go on with my rant, here is the story of how and where that line; “don’t count your chickens before they hatch” started…

Who said it: Aesop

When: c. 570 B.C.

The milkmaid and her pail…

The Story behind It: This saying occurs in the fable “The Milkmaid and Her Pail.” Patty, a farmer’s daughter, is daydreaming as she walks to town with a pail of milk balanced on her head. Her thoughts: “The milk in this pail will provide me with cream, which I will make into butter, which I will sell in the market, and buy a dozen eggs, which will hatch into chickens, which will lay more eggs, and soon I shall have a large poultry yard. I’ll sell some of the fowls and buy myself a handsome new gown and go to the fair, and when the young fellows try to make love to me, I’ll toss my head and pass them by.” At that moment, Patty tossed her head and lost the pailful of milk. Her mother admonished, “Do not count your chickens before they are hatched.”

Source: http://www.trivia-library.com/b/origins-of-sayings-dont-count-your-chickens-before-they-hatch.htm

I first laughed so hard when I read this story..it’s actually a funny one! I thought I was ambitious but Patty was something else…

Anyhow, so that’s the story, so I wonder again, should I watch my eggs peacefully and count the chickens after they’ve hatched or should I keep the faith and believe some more that God will give me exactly what I ask for? And yes, sometimes I have believed and had so much faith for something to happen, and it didn’t, the eggs didn’t hatch….but that doesn’t mean the chicken stops laying more eggs, that’s of course if it’s not eaten. 🙂 and maybe that particular lot of eggs that I looked at and badly wanted had a bad breed of chickens, ugly ones,,,u know like the ones with no feathers on their necks, yeah, those ones…and so God decided, they shouldn’t hatch, to save me the trouble of having “ugly chicken.” In real life, this would refer to a plan not working out even after you had so much faith that it would…and that’s because God who sees the future knew that the outcome might not be good for us in the end…so he preferred not to hatch that egg plan.

So I say, I will keep counting my chickens before they hatch…I will keep believing…I will keep the faith because I know HE in his own good time, will hatch them. HE sees the future, HE knows best. And if one particular lot of eggs doesn’t hatch, the chicken will lay more eggs *if I don’t eat it*….if I happen to eat it, I will buy a new chicken and just like the first it will lay and lay and lay some more. They will eventually hatch!

They will hatch! :)
They will hatch! 🙂
4 thoughts on “Count my chickens…oh yes, I will. :)

Leave a Reply

