Don’t sell out, don’t cave in, and don’t give up on God.

I have probably said it before and I’ve forgotten,,,or maybe i haven’t but anyhow, here goes….i’m not a very good reader; I’m not one of those people who enters a bookshop and looks for a particular book to buy and read, unless, I’m going to have to answer questions on it and have marks awarded or something like that,,,,i don’t read as a pass time. I would rather watch the story on a screen instead,,so all those books with movies after them, chances are I have watched the movie, and saw that, “based on the book bla bla”, but I’ve never seen what the book looks like…except for Cinderella and those other fairy tales  Those were short stories and easy to read…besides the books had like font 48 or something, so about 6 words per page..i.e. easy to read. I read News papers though. 🙂

Anyhow, once in a while, I do come across some nice reads, random good reads; and often times, there’s something or two for me to learn from them probably because they talk about something I can relate to or something I have seen happen, or simply food for thought and when I “land” on such a kind….the first thing that comes to my mind after reading it is, I should share this.

Over the weekend I read a sermon,,,yes read, i didn’t listen to one, I read one. Just allow. 🙂 Anyhow I read a sermon and It was teaching me/us/the congregation the so many things we get to learn from Ruth in the bible…So i’m going to paraphrase, to make the jazz / woloks / story short.

1. Whatever we go through, whatever happens to us, is no coincidence! God orchestrates the (such) events in order to accomplish His purposes. HIS invisible hand steers us to particular places or situations on particular days or at particular times. Sometimes we go through some terrible things; but every difficulty, question, uncertainty, and broken heart becomes God’s way of doing something better than could have happened otherwise. We find the beginning of God’s grace when we come to the end of ourselves.

2. Even when we are completely unaware of what is happening, or even why something is happening, God is guiding our decisions and actions. HE is working everything together for our good and HIS ultimate glory. Our responsibility is to surrender to HIS sovereignty; to trust HIM so much that we do not doubt HE will provide whatever we need for body and soul and HE will turn to our good whatever adversity HE sends us in this life. HE is able to do this because HE is almighty, all-powerful and all-knowing; HE is a faithful Father! HE has a way of working everything out.

A short story is told;

>> There was a man, the only survivor of a shipwreck washed up on a small, uninhabited island. He cried out to God to save him, and every day he scanned the horizon for help, but he only got depressed. He eventually was able to build a small hut and put his only possessions in it. But one day, after hunting for some food, he came back to his hut to find that it had gone up in flames, the smoke rolling up to the sky. He was devastated. Early the next day a ship drew near the island and rescued him. He couldn’t believe it. When he came on board he said to the crew, “How did you know I was here?” To which they replied, “We saw your smoke signal.”

If that doesn’t describe awesome, I don’t know what does. HE’s got you! HE’s got me! HE’s got all of us! *singing* >>> HE’s-got-the-whole-world-in-his-hands! 🙂

*don't give up*

Leave a Reply

