Of movies that ‘teach’ us… Life of π *Pi* or should i say 3.14159….. :-)

I’m your typical tv-girl. If I told you my favorite pass time is watching tv, I wouldn’t be lying….well, it does compete with sleeping on some level, but yes…while the rest of the normal world loves reading, television is my friend.

No lie though, growing up has sort of changed things; not that I’m the busiest person in the world, I’m far from it actually, but somehow the time just isn’t there anymore. By the time I get round to watching a ‘new’ movie, the world has already watched it and like 5 more have been released *ok, that is a bit exaggerated but yeah, it’s usually after a while*. Whenever I get a free window, either I just want to rest or meet a friend and catch up or something like that and before I know it, ‘recess’ is over.

So anyway, everyone was talking about django, I got it, didn’t like it. I thought it had too much blood, totally not my type. Then the world sung praises for Les Misérables, and I got that one too…. I yawned and yawned, didn’t think I was capable of yawning so much in three hours. Yes, I watched both movies to the end, just to see how they ended. I concluded the world totally had different tastes and preferences from what I have…which, before u shoot me, is perfectly normal. It does not make me boring.

As normal people go to cinemas or borrow movies on weekends, I have school…Saturday and Sunday so you can’t even begin to imagine my joy when the prof. said he had an emergency and could only do Saturday class and we were off Sunday! I immediately planned the rest of my weekend, mentally even as the Saturday class went on. Immediately class ended, at 5pm, I went to my movie guy and bought ‘Life of Pi’….mainly because everyone who had watched it said it was pretty good, and I wanted to see for myself. I mean my taste can’t be thaaaaaaattttt off from everyone else’s.

I have to say, that is one of the best movies I have seen! And I don’t think I have seen graphics and pictures / images so beautiful in a movie before! I caught myself pausing the movie at certain parts to take in the beauty! Like seriously. And then it had so much to ‘say’. You know there are times you watch a movie and half way through it you probably can’t remember three lines or something because it was all just ‘talk’ and nothing really caught your attention….but not this one. It was a good two hours well spent.

Just in case for some strange reason you didn’t get any of the quotes…this is what this post is about; yes that is how much I liked the movie! So much that I didn’t even tweet-watch like I normally do for movies,,,ok, only when I got confused about the fish ‘flying’ and I had to #Tweethelp but didn’t get much from there…tweeps can be harsh I tell you! No place for ignorance there….but that will be a post for another day, when I’m brave enough! 🙂

Here goes…some of my favorites from the movie >>

:-)
🙂

“To choose doubt as a philosophy of life is akin to choosing immobility as a means of transportation.”

~

“I suppose in the end, the whole of life becomes an act of letting go, but what always hurts the most is not taking a moment to say goodbye. It’s important in life to conclude things properly. Only then can you let go. Otherwise you are left with words you should have said but never did, and your heart is heavy with remorse.”

Such Beauty even in the middle of nowhere!
Such Beauty even in the middle of nowhere!

“Faith is a house with many rooms.” – “But no room for doubt?” – “Oh plenty, on every floor. Doubt is useful; it keeps faith a living thing. After all, you cannot know the strength of your faith until it is tested.”

~

“Even when God seemed to have abandoned me, he was watching. Even when He seemed indifferent to my suffering, He was watching and when I was beyond all hope of saving… He gave me rest and gave me a sign to continue my journey…”

~

“Hunger can change everything you thought you knew yourself!”

awesome, isn't it?
awesome, isn’t it?

“If every unfolding we experience takes us further along in life, then, we are truly experiencing what life is offering…”

~

“It is true that those we meet can change us, sometimes so profoundly that we are not the same afterwards, even unto our names.”

~

“Above all: don’t lose hope”

Richard Parker :-)
Richard Parker 🙂

3 thoughts on “Of movies that ‘teach’ us… Life of π *Pi* or should i say 3.14159….. :-)

Leave a Reply

