somebody make more songs about dads already!

John Mayer _ “Fathers be good to your daughters, for the daughters will love like you do.”

So apparently it’s fathers’ day today……though i’m one of those people who believe parents’ days are everyday….each day is a celebration in itself. But just like birthdays, and new years day and all the other special days, dads got a day too…yey!

Ever wondered why nobody writes songs about dads? I mean, there’s soooo many songs about mums everywhere and in every language but just a few about dads..i only know ‘dance with my father’ which by the way, is kinda sad, but I love very much! That sort of bothers me a lot and I didn’t know how much until for my parents’ birthday last year I found myself asking the DJ not to play any “mama songs” unless for each one he intended on playing, there was a “papa” one as well. *sigh*

That one person who I am certain would go to the ends of the earth to have me happy….who over the years has turned me into a lady and now that i’m old, well, not so young anymore, he’s turning me back into a baby again! That’s how special dads are! When I cry, he simply can’t take it…he’d rather believe I’m sneezing endless because  I have a cold or something…. when my skin “betrays” me and i get acne or whatever…..no, to him it’s not that…it’s mosquito bites; I go home after months and find stuff he’s kept for me from the last time I was home..and by stuff i mean..if i missed a party, he’ll keep me that piece of cake and nobody is supposed to touch it because it’s Nalu’s! lol. He calls to tell me the little joys or mile stones that happen while I’m away and that warms my heart. He tells the world I am an engineer! lol. I am not. I manage engineers!

I could go on and on….but at the end of the day it all comes down to this: “Any man can be a father, but it takes a special man to be a dad.”

dad

3 thoughts on “somebody make more songs about dads already!

Leave a Reply

