Dissecting Shakespeare’s brain…

I watched something the other day and in there, this mister did this poem for his Mrs….to be honest, before then, I only knew one line of the poem…the beginning. I’d never heard it being recited before, or even read it. I just knew it existed. One of Shakespeare’s thing things….*Let me not to the marriage of true minds*
First of all, that line alone, doesn’t make a lot of sense….like seriously…the Grammar Nazi in me is a little uncomfortable…I can’t deal with “misplaced” words…at least that is what they look like…so anyway I decided to look it up, and read it…and in its strangeness, it actually made some sense. I should have stayed in that literature class in form three; maybe it was not as bad boring as I imagined…but then again, figures made more sense.

Here goes:

Let me not to the marriage of true minds
Admit impediments. Love is not love
Which alters when it alteration finds,
Or bends with the remover to remove:
O no! It is an ever-fixed mark
That looks on tempests and is never shaken;
It is the star to every wandering bark,
Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken.
Love’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks
Within his bending sickle’s compass come:
Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,
But bears it out even to the edge of doom.
If this be error and upon me proved,
I never writ, nor no man ever loved.
– Shakespeare

Ok yeah…it’s still weird…and yes, I still find the words ‘misplaced’…complete confusion. So I read some more, looked through several ‘translations’ and interpretations of it….aaaand let’s dissect Shakespeare’s brain:

Let me not to the marriage of true minds

*I have honestly failed to understand this line so let’s move on*

Admit impediments. Love is not love

*Ok, I know an impediment is an obstruction or barrier..but don’t know what this line means either…moving on swiftly..*

Which alters when it alteration finds,

✓  *Love is not something that  changes when times or circumstances change*

Or bends with the remover to remove:

✓  *it does not bend when something fails. It stays firm*

O no! it is an ever-fixed mark

✓  *this one’s a bit obvious*

That looks on tempests and is never shaken;

✓  *takes on challenges and trouble but still remains*

It is the star to every wandering bark,

✓  *uhmmm..yeah, I think it means, it’s a star, light, guide..maybe?*

Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken.

✓  *worth = value, height = altitude…so yeah u can tell what that line means*

Love’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks

✓  *ok, clearly I will need help here…dunno what this line means*

Within his bending sickle’s compass come:

✓  *what in the world is ‘bending sickle’s compass’? still blank..*

Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,

✓  *Love does not change with hours and weeks*

But bears it out even to the edge of doom

✓  *It endures to the end*

If this be error and upon me proved,

✓ *If I am lying..and you can prove it*

I never writ, nor no man ever loved.

✓  *Then I take back all that I have written, and no man has ever [truly] loved*

~The End~

I have tried….and on a scale of 1-10, I give myself 7 🙂   But yeah, he just sort of decided to use hard words to explain something really simple: Love is patient, Love is kind….love is slowly losing your mind… 

Nah, I lie…. 🙂 it does not boast, is not resentful, takes no pleasure in other people’s suffering and pain, keeps no record of wrongs, delights in the truth…it protects, trusts, hopes…perseveres.
Love is Patient

2 thoughts on “Dissecting Shakespeare’s brain…

  1. gittazac says:

    Let me not to the marriage of true minds Let me not declare any reasons why two
    Admit impediments. Love is not love True-minded people should not be married. Love is not love
    Which alters when it alteration finds, Which changes when it finds a change in circumstances,
    Or bends with the remover to remove: Or bends from its firm stand even when a lover is unfaithful:
    O no! it is an ever-fixed mark Oh no! it is a lighthouse
    That looks on tempests and is never shaken; That sees storms but it never shaken;
    It is the star to every wandering bark, Love is the guiding north star to every lost ship,
    Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken. Whose value cannot be calculated, although its altitude can be measured.
    Love’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks Love is not at the mercy of Time, though physical beauty
    Within his bending sickle’s compass come: Comes within the compass of his sickle.
    Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks, Love does not alter with hours and weeks,
    But bears it out even to the edge of doom. But, rather, it endures until the last day of life.
    If this be error and upon me proved, If I am proved wrong about these thoughts on love
    I never writ, nor no man ever loved. Then I recant all that I have written, and no man has ever [truly] loved.

Leave a Reply

