Enter a title here……because I couldn’t get one :-)

Last night, something not-so-out-of-the-ordinary happened.

I ranted about it on all platforms I subscribe to and texted / called up everyone on my speed dial. *except my dad.

When mum and I stopped at our usual fuel station for a re-fill, the guy who normally works on us happily waved signalling us to go to his pump (like they all do) and we did….just like every other time, because loyalty. 🙂  See, he knows the car……he knows we do a 20 every other day. He’s our guy!

Like I always do, after telling him how much to put, I have my eyes glued at the counter thingie on the pump so I’m sure the litres tally with the price. Now I realise I probably have to look at what pipe he picks on as well.

He eventually stopped at 19600/= and I asked him why he didn’t get to 20k and he lowered his head and murmured, ‘I have put diesel.’ I looked down at the pump and the petrol pipe was intact…he really had put diesel. He calmly asked if the engine was off…and it was. Lesson 1: they really mean it when they say switch off the engine when fuelling. This must be one of the things they foresaw.

My shock lasted about 20 seconds and I told myself not to lose it…..if this was God’s test on my patience, surely I had to pass it besides the poor guy certainly did not intend it, probably had a longer day than mine and the last thing he deserved for his mistake was harsh rebuke. And I’d never seen someone more remorseful. Also, my mum was too calm about the whole situation I felt compelled to act the same. Lesson 2: Quoting the West African proverb – no matter how hot your temper is, it can’t cook yam! – My being angry or scolding this guy was not going to fix anything…also,* that is why I didn’t call le father because he’d probably give the guy a few life lessons on being alert, careful etc etc, in brief, an unnecessary lecture.

So all the pump attendants put their heads (and phones) together and called the station supervisor, who was also calm..thankfully. The station mechanics were called from their homes (at now, 10pm) and the car tank was drained and cleaned. The entire time, mum and I were asleep in the car. That is how tired we were.

We got a fuel compensation…and the supervisor even wanted to drive behind us a bit to make sure the car didn’t stop or explode and we asked him not to fire the guy who made the fuel mix because it was an honest mistake. Also, when we got home and I told my dad the story, I was glad I didn’t call him before. What? How? He did what? Did they fix it? What station was that? Were you not looking?

This morning when we drove by the station, I saw the young man happily waving signalling at his AM customers. I hope he got enough rest and his mind cleared of whatever was bothering him and hopefully he won’t be making any more fuel cocktails anytime soon.

What did this teach (or remind) me? – on top of the already mentioned two lessons, I will still emphasize, turn off the engine when fuelling. If the engine had been running when this happened, the diesel would have gone to it and that would have been a totally different story, time-wise, financially and even temper-wise. For everyone.

  • Anything can happen within the blink of an eye….literally. *this is true for good things and bad things.
  • Mother knows best – she knew that these guys had told us how they were going to fix the situation and well, it was their responsibility to. Ours was to wait, preferably in silence….so she literally didn’t say anything till the end. I think I didn’t get that calm gene.
  • Always look out for the positives…..maybe this happened because the car tank needed a clean-up that was long overdue! ….Maybe there was a danger ahead on our route home that cleared during the time we were delayed at the station ……Maybe this was one of God’s blessings in disguise!

May we always be thankful in all situations even the seemingly unpleasant. Also, be kind to a pump attendant, waitress, security guard etc……their day is probably not as smooth as yours but probably more hectic.

X

 Be Kind

Leave a Reply

