When I grow up…..

When I was younger, I wanted to be everything when I grew up. From a teacher to a soldier to a newspaper vendor to a fuel pump attendant to a traffic officer. This whole construction business I ended up in somehow entered my head I think after secondary school. Well, because in secondary school, I had no idea what I wanted to be when I grew up.

Back to my pre-primary school dreams.

Teacher

I thought these were the coolest people, why? Because they didn’t get to do homework but instead gave the homework. I kept wondering how cool is this???? I want to do that when I grow up!

Soldier

The movies made them look good. And they’re so smart in their uniforms! Until I started watching war films. I decided, nope. No. Not any more.

Newspaper vendor

When we were younger and my parents had to ferry us to school in the morning, the traffic was much lighter than these days and the cars moved faster in the morning. Well, because the traffic was lighter. 🙂 Somewhere along Jinja road, in Kireka, there was a newspaper vendor so good at what he did that whoever was seated in the co-driver’s seat would roll down the window, and this guy would toss the paper in and at the same time pick the money the person had put up for him. *so you had to have exact money, no time for change* It was like a 5 second exchange and the car barely stopped and he’d be running and would do that like for 5 cars in a line. He looked like he enjoyed it. So he made me want to be able to do that.

Fuel Pump attendant

This one and the next one after this, are still on my dream-list. I’d like to be a fuel pump attendant for a day. Just a day. Yesterday while at a fuel station I watched one punch in the amount then put the nozzle into the tank and in a weird way I thought to myself I still want to do that…for a day. Don’t look at me weird.

Traffic officer

The whole idea of being in control. Standing infront of these cars and they can’t knock you. Sort of. And directing traffic and stopping cars….that, I still want to do….for a day…..a not so hot day. Especially because these days I look at the congestion and I’m like is it this hard to control these cars??? Maybe it is. And maybe I need to find out for myself.

We all have these but when we grow up, we get placed on different paths altogether. No wonder they say growing up is a trap.

All that said and said, at the end of the day, whatever you end up doing, do it like you’re the best doer of that thing the world has ever had. 🙂 Make the younger ones want to be like you when they grow up!

x

3 thoughts on “When I grow up…..

Leave a Reply

