The season…yup the season. :-)

I’m sorry I get to force my Christmas excitement on you, from like July! LOL! Thing is, it’s my favourite time of the year. One of my favourite times actually. My birthday, my brothers’ birthdays and my parents’ birthday (yes, they share one) are my other favourite times of the year.

In 2012, I posted about a ‘different’ kind of Christmas song I had discovered. It had probably been around a while, but it was my first time to hear it. I loved it and wrote about it in this post.

This week I discovered another ‘different’ Christmas song when I looked up several to take me through my work day. Also, I think Justin Bieber’s mistle toe is really nice (sweet) but bleh, not today Bieber. You will not appear in my Christmas excitement. 🙂

I came across ‘Someday at Christmas‘ and the feeling it gave me was the same one I had when I first heard ‘Grown-up Christmas List’ the song I wrote about in that post three years ago. In this particular song, which by the way, you should listen to, there’s this part:

Someday at Christmas man will not fail
Hate will be gone and love will prevail
Someday a new world that we can start
With hope in every heart

It also goes on to say, maybe not in time for you and me, but someday at Christmas time.

I love Christmas time because to me, it symbolises giving. Giving and loving. Selflessly. Pretty much what the birth of Christ symbolises; because eventually, he did give his life for us. I mean it doesn’t get any more selfless than that.

And no, it doesn’t come with special treats in my household. Maybe it did when we were younger. But times definitely changed. Even when my Christmas ‘plot’ for the last so many years is home-plot (sadly, I hardly do church on Christmas day..because of the massive crowd).. don’t judge me. But yes, even when all I do is stay home and eat 🙂 Christmas to me sets default joy-settings. Like you’d slap me and I’d find it funny. And probably cry about it the next day. LOL!

There’s different versions of it and here’s the one by Mary J. Blige. Enjoy. 🙂

Speaking of giving, I’ve declared, in the Jemi-verse, that December is pay-it-forward month. In simple terms, paying it forward is going the extra mile to help someone else, chances are, who you won’t even get to know. For example at a restaurant, leaving your change behind and requesting that it covers someone’s meal at that restaurant. Someone who might not be in position to afford it. I don’t know how honest our Kampala restaurants are *I imagine someone pocketing all the moneys that people will leave behind* but I think for the season, one of our busy restaurants should at least take on this plan. But have like a jar and collect people’s change and at day end buy a meal for the beggar(s) across the road. Technically, the restaurant will not be losing anything, because the meals are still getting paid for.

Or say at a supermarket, if again, you left your change behind and requested that it gets used to pay for something for someone not so fortunate as yourself….we have so many homeless people walking our streets.

Bambi if you have a better-to-understand definition of paying it forward come help the masses. 🙂 But yes, I think you sort of get the picture.

Buuuut…….As much as the giving spirit wakes up in the Christmas season, it’s definitely one we ought to keep with us all through the year.

x

One thought on “The season…yup the season. :-)

Leave a Reply

