What have you done?

I am a girl woman so every month I get a visitor. One that only God and Biology can explain. A necessary visitor, a reminder that my body is working fine and ideally I should be glad about it. Thankful even.

Every month even when the visitor calls, with all the effects that come with it, I have to respond, then wake up and show up where I’m supposed to be and I’m expected to operate normally like my body isn’t experiencing world war III. Lucky for me, I can take the necessary precautions, the most important being having a constant supply of sanitary wear.

During a certain Presidential campaign, one of the candidates at the time promised free sanitary wear for village school girls, so that they don’t miss school on those days. Candidate won. But later his Education Minister declared that the country did not have money to fulfill the campaign promise. Cue Dr. Stella Nyanzi.

A few weeks ago while walking along the toiletries aisle in the supermarket I stopped and considered getting some sanitary wear very well knowing I did not need them at the time; nonetheless, I wanted to be sure I had ‘stock’. Just in case. I then wondered how terrified these school girls in the village must be. Getting embarrassed before the boys at school and they can’t even do anything about it and in the end opt to stay away from school for a couple of days…or a week. Justifiably so. For a three months school term, that would mean, three weeks off school. A lot can be missed in three weeks.

Dr. Stella Nyanzi (Ph.D.) waged a verbal war on the system and somehow managed to collect funds and supplied a great deal of free sanitary wear to girls who’d otherwise not be able to afford it. I’m not as bold as the Doctor; but nze nga nze, me as me, feel I should be able to contribute to this good cause in a way.

I thought about the frequent village trips I do in a year and on top of all the other things bought to be taken to the village, I’ll start adding a couple of packets of sanitary wear. For the young girls in the village, or the neighborhood or even strangers. I know they will need them; and hopefully keep them in school a week longer. 🙂

What have you done?

One thought on “What have you done?

Leave a Reply

