How did you meet your Boda guy?

How did you meet your boda guy? Almost everyone has a boda guy. Not a random one who you find at the stage and ask him to take you to place B, but one you can call and he picks you from wherever or have him run an errand or something like that.

Yes, that guy, how did you meet him?

Today I met mine. I have lots of boda guys, and before today, that definition fitted any of them who took me any given day. For the moment of the journey, he’d be my boda guy. But this afternoon I met theeeee one. The real deal.

After lunch, I needed to get to school real quick and pick up my graduation documents and apparel for next week. Yup!!! I’m graduating. And my marks are faaar from shabby! So good actually, I’ve already shared this with some people. That kind of good news that is too good, it overwhelms you, you tell just a few people. Lol. But for that, I thank the Lord.

Back to boda story.

I went to this stage, called one of the guys and told him where I wanted to go. I also mentioned to him that I might or might not have escaped from my desk so I asked him to use a specific route, avoiding another. He understood and signaled me to sit, as if, say no more, I gat you. Along the way he asked if I wanted him to wait for me so he brings me back….I told him what I was going to do might take a bit of time but we’d see about it.

When we reached school, I decided I didn’t want to make him wait. I paid him the to-fare and told him if I wasn’t back in 2 minutes, it was okay for him to leave me. I took foreeeever. Okay about 25minutes. And I figured since I had already paid him, no need to rush through anything, I took my time. When I was done, I walked out the school gate and to my shock, he was there! I literally said waaaaiiirrraaaminute! Si gwe wandeese? Those were my exact words by the way.

He laughed and responded affirmative. I told him he wasn’t serious and asked him why he waited that long. His response, ‘you said you run away from your desk, I have to take you back.’ he said that in luganda

My eyes were still wide open. Several good things have happened to me this week, I did not expect something of this sort, though.

So I sat and said my thank yous and told him we could go. I later told him I was going to take his number because I think I’ll be needing him again. And when we reached, I asked how much he wanted and he said whatever I was willing to pay him…..and he was serious. Who was this guy???? So anyway, I gave him 1k more than I’d even planned to, and then took his number and name.

So that is how I met my boda guy…how did you meet yours?

One thought on “How did you meet your Boda guy?

Leave a Reply

